Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Ok now I'm very new to the whole Linux thing.. I did a lot of research and decided that Mandriva was better because of it hardware support, especially for the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can Not Get WUSB300N to connect

Ok now I'm very new to the whole Linux thing.. I did a lot of research and decided that Mandriva was better because of it hardware support, especially for the WUSB300N wireless card..

So first off I just tried in via my desktop using vista. It seems like a good OS, and it recognized my wireless card no problem.. But after installing it I could not get it to work my error message I get is

"No Packages Named Wireless tools"
    "Could Not Install The Packages (Wireless Tools)

Now under the systems section not sure what it is called, but it does list the WUSB300N adapter, put with a ? next to it.. So my question is how in the world to I get this to work? I'm a complete noob to Linux and need all the help i can get. Thanks

I don't know Mandriva well, but it sounds like during installation, it didn't install the wireless tools package for some reason.

It should be on the installation CD or if you have a wired connection you can download it via your package manager. It will probably be named something like wireless_tools or wireless-tools.
    Installing and removing software - Mandriva Community Wiki

Just Joined!
    It depends on what disk you used to install.
    The Mandriva One LiveCD has a feature that removes any unused drivers and tools before beginning the installation, it is recommended that you de-select this feature. It sometimes removes stuf that you might actually need later.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!