Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hey, I'm new to linux. I have a question about having my Windows XP load by default, instead of Mandrake 9.2 . I hate having to have linux load up ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3

    Mandrake 9.2 = Having windows as the default loader


    Hey, I'm new to linux. I have a question about having my Windows XP load by default, instead of Mandrake 9.2 .
    I hate having to have linux load up by default when i just turn the computer on. I would like to not have to touch it, and have XP load up by default. All I know about the loader program is that its the one used when I installed Mandrake 9.2 If someone could answer how to change it so Windows would be the default booter, Id be greatly appreciated. Thx

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    IIRC Mandrake uses lilo by default, so you need to open a terminal and
    1-) su
    2-) nano /etc/lilo.conf
    3-) make Winblows default
    4-) save file&quit
    5-) lilo
    Have a nice day

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3
    when I type in

    nano /etc/lilo.conf

    it responds with

    bash: nano: command not found

    I've looked up tutorials earlier, and the command

    emacs /etc/lilo.conf

    works, but when i edit it to default="windows" and save it, then type lilo afterward, i get...

    Unrecognized token "deboot" at or above line 1 in file '/etc/lilo.conf'

    =/

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    165
    post your lilo.conf file here and we can do changes for you

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3
    deboot=/dev/hda
    map=/boot/map
    default=windows
    keytable=/boot/us.klt
    prompt
    nowarn
    timeout=100
    message=/boot/message
    menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="linux"
    root=/dev/hdb1
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=ht splash=silent"
    vga=788
    read-only
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="fb-linux"
    root=/dev/hdb1
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=ht"
    read-only
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="failsafe"
    root=/dev/hdb1
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=nomount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=ht failsafe"
    read-only
    other=/dev/hda1
    label="windows"
    table=/dev/hda
    other=/dev/fd0
    label="floppy"
    unsafe

    thats my lilo.conf file

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    165
    Quote Originally Posted by bleedingcorpse
    deboot=/dev/hda
    change this to boot=/dev/hda
    and re-run
    Code:
    /sbiin/lilo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •