Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Just done a fresh install and get all these errors: --- $HOME/.dmrc file is being ignored. This prevents the default session and langauage from being saved. Fil should be owned ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Complete Newbie & New Install

Just done a fresh install and get all these errors:

---
    $HOME/.dmrc file is being ignored. This prevents the default session and langauage from being saved. Fil should be owned by user and have 644 permissions. Users $HOME directory must be owned by user and not writeable by other users.

Could not update ICEauthority file /home/admin/.ICEauthority

There is a problem wiht the configuration server (usr/lib/gconf-sanity-check-2 excited with status 256)

Nautilus could not create the following required folders:

/home/admin/desktop
    /home/admin/.nautilus

Before running Nautilus, please create these folders or set permissions such that nautilus can create them.
    ----

So then I press control alt f1, thinking I am in the console, and then try to change permission by typing the following:

chmod 644 ~/.dmrc

So nothing happens. Please help.

Sounds like something went wrong with the creation of the main user account.

Did you run chmod as root? I would make sure both ownership and permissions are correct for the home directory.

Code:
    su -
    chown -R <username> /home/<username>
    chmod -R 755 /home/<username>
    Replace <username> with your username.

No i don't know the commands to run as root. but ill try that code you provided and it works live now. Thanks for the help, that's amazing.

The only error it kicks out at the start now is:

"$HOME/.dmrc file is being ignored. This prevents the default session and langauage from being saved. Fil should be owned by user and have 644 permissions. Users $HOME directory must be owned by user and not writeable by other users."