Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, Please excuse me if this doesn't make sense as I'm new to Linux and am still trying to learn it. Ages ago I downloaded and installed Mandriva Linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Smile Problems installing new version of Mandriva

Hi all,

Please excuse me if this doesn't make sense as I'm new to Linux and am still trying to learn it.

Ages ago I downloaded and installed Mandriva Linux 2009.0 (One) from the Mandriva website. I absolutely love it, but whenever I log-in, I get this little blue icon appear in the task-bar (near the clock) which tells me that a new version is available. I always double-click on it which brings up the following box:

'New version of Mandriva Linux distribution

A new version of Mandriva Linux distribution has been released.
    More Information about this new version.
    Do you want to upgrade to the 2009 Spring distribution?
    [ ] Do not ask me next time
    [ Cancel ] [ Next ] '

Anyway, I always click on 'Next' which brings up a bigger 'New version of Mandriva Linux distribution' box but everything inside it is grey and it can literally stay on the screen for days. The aforementioned box still stays on the screen to the side of it.

Is there any way that I can update to the new Linux without having to download it off the Mandriva website and burn it to CD? I was hoping that I'd be able to just update through the update utility, as I'm particuarly interested in Mandriva 2010 when it's released.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
    Stu

Remove your previous media list as so
    Code:
    su -
    urpmi.removemedia -av
    Add the desired versions media by going here and selecting version 2009.1. Add at least the Official medias.

The PLF repos contain non-free software, which people often want, such as libdvdcss, which you need to play commercial DVDs.

Update with
    Code:
    su -
    urpmi --auto-update -v