Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
klaptop is correctly installed, but i can't set clok speeds. I can see only 0 MHz 0 Mhz look at this screenshot: What i have to do?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    8

    klaptop is correctly installed, but i can't set clok speeds. I can see only

    0 MHz
    0 Mhz

    look at this screenshot:



    What i have to do?

  2. #12
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    On the far right tab, there's a setuid helper application that you need to run in order for non-root users to be able to take advantage of klaptop.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    8
    already done.



    I can set system performance when computer is battery powered or not, and I can set 2 different cpu clock, but those are 0 and 0...

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5
    I got the same problem (tho profiles 0 and 0 MHz) with Mandrake 10, kernel 2.6.3-7 on Acer Travelmate 290 lmi.

    I've also loaded all the modules:
    modprobe ac
    modprobe battery
    modprobe thermal
    modprobe processor
    modprobe fan
    modprobe button

    But still there's anything in /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/ and in /proc/acpi/fan

    If I try to load speedstep centrino I got:
    # modprobe speedstep-centrino
    FATAL: Error inserting speedstep-centrino (/lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/speedstep-centrino.ko.gz): No such device

    Thanks,
    Andrea

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    8
    Wow, I'm not alone! But you have an intel centrino, and I have a p4 HT.

    I still have this problem and I can't find a solution.

    Someone can help us?

    Thanks

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1
    I'm a Linux newbie and have installed Mandrake 10.0 yesterday on my Acer 1705SCi laptop (had a tricky problem with the video driver, but could solve it).

    I had the problem that the cooling fan of my laptop were constantly working at maximum capacity, and I solved it this way:

    Went to System - Configuration - Configure Computer (don't know the terms in English, could be slightly different)
    Filled in root password to get access
    Went to Boot (or maybe Startup in English?), anyway, the litte screen with the on-off switch.
    Went to Boot program (or loader?), also the screen with the on-off switch

    I use LILO with graphics, and have set ACPI option on, and the other two (Force no APIC, Force no local APIC) off. (So on-off-off for the 3 options)

    I rebooted and after the new boot, fans were working magnificently silent

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Foundation
    I'm a Linux newbie and have installed Mandrake 10.0 yesterday on my Acer 1705SCi laptop (had a tricky problem with the video driver, but could solve it).

    I had the problem that the cooling fan of my laptop were constantly working at maximum capacity, and I solved it this way:

    Went to System - Configuration - Configure Computer (don't know the terms in English, could be slightly different)
    Filled in root password to get access
    Went to Boot (or maybe Startup in English?), anyway, the litte screen with the on-off switch.
    Went to Boot program (or loader?), also the screen with the on-off switch

    I use LILO with graphics, and have set ACPI option on, and the other two (Force no APIC, Force no local APIC) off. (So on-off-off for the 3 options)

    I rebooted and after the new boot, fans were working magnificently silent
    But can you set different performance profiles from Klaptop in kde?
    The options you modified are optons passed to the kernel at startup.

    Can you post your lilo.conf file? You can find it in /etc directory. Thanks.

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5
    So nobody can help us with speedstep centrino configuration?
    Which information can i give you to have an help...

    Andrea

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •