Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm completely new to Linux, just installed mandriva 2010 yesterday. I want to install loads of new programmes, codecs etc and I've just figured out that this involves typing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Root login not working

Hi, I'm completely new to Linux, just installed mandriva 2010 yesterday. I want to install loads of new programmes, codecs etc and I've just figured out that this involves typing commands in the konsole. My problem is that when I type in my administrator password (and I know it's the right one) the query to type in the password reappears, so I do and the query pops up again. I repeated the process a bunch of times then gave up in frustration. Am I doing something wrong or is there something wrong with my pc?
    Also, does anybody know a good beginners guide for Mandriva and/or linux in general? I really haven't got a clue what I'm doing, Windows is ingrained in my mind.
    Thanks

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

You should be logging in as a regular user, then going to a terminal and issuing the su command to gain root privileges:

Code:
    su
    or...

Code:
    su -
    Is that the way you are doing it?

You can find some helpful documentation at the Mandriva wiki:

Mandriva Community Wiki
    oz

Just Joined!
    Thanks! I tried the terminal command prompt option but that had similar results in that it doesn't seem to allow me to type - I put "su", it tells me to type the password but nothing appears on the screen as I type and when I press enter it tells me the password is invalid.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by Turphy View Post