Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hi everybody, iI m using mandriva 2010. Everything works fine except sound. my computer is a HP Pavilion DV6-1110AX the lspci | grep -i audio snd_hda_intel : ATI Technologies Inc|R700 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2

    no sound in mandriva 2010


    Hi everybody,
    iI m using mandriva 2010. Everything works fine except sound.
    my computer is a HP Pavilion DV6-1110AX

    the lspci | grep -i audio
    snd_hda_intel : ATI Technologies Inc|R700 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4000 Series] (vendor:1002 device:aa38 subv:103c subd:3061)
    grep sound-slot /etc/modprobe.conf
    alias sound-slot-0 snd_hda_intel
    alias sound-slot-1 snd_hda_intel
    aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: STAC92xx Digital [STAC92xx Digital]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: ATI HDMI [ATI HDMI]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    42
    Some people have had sucess with some HP laptop by using this line in /etc/modprobe.conf
    options snd-hda-intel model=hp-dv5 enable_msi=1

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    It seems that you have 3 sound devices on your system. Try this as a regular user :

    pulseaudio -k
    pulseaudio &

    As root :
    urpmi pavucontrol

    As a user:
    pavucontrol

    This will give you the Pulse Audio Control panel where you can default a playback device.

    If you want more info about the the hardware part of your sound system :

    As root :
    urpmi hwinfo
    hwinfo --sound

    You'll get much info, namely the driver status.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    You should also run kmix and set sound levels correctly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •