Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi to everyone here , I have just installed Mandrakelinux 10.0 as I wanted to test it I have an XP , so during the set up everything was fine ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrakelinux installed...but XP boots alone , no linux :-(

Hi to everyone here ,

I have just installed Mandrakelinux 10.0 as I wanted to test it
    I have an XP , so during the set up everything was fine , installed worked and it did not blew XP

But now at boot , the only system I see is ... XP . and I don't see any of lilo or whatever to boot on linux .

What shall be the problem then ?

I am a newbie so I wait for advanced user's advice ... thanks very much

Anael

during your Mandrake install it should, hopefully, have asked you if you want a bootloader (lilo or grub [better]) and where you want to put it.

You should normally put lilo or grub onto the bit of your booting harddisk called the master boot record - mbr (it's here that your PC looks for an operating system, and it's here that it should find part of lilo or grub). There is an mbr on all harddisks, so , do you have more than one harddisk (as opposed to more than one hard disk partition)? If you do, then which harddisk are you booting from (defined in your BIOS setup (that's the thing that you can press F2 or del to get into just after you start booting (ie' before any operating system starts to be loaded).

I am told, but have no personal experience of, that you can get WinXP to go into a boot loader (C:\boot.ini or maybe C:\windows\boot.ini) and that this can point to your Linux (you get given a rather boring white text on a black background menu). But, of course, you'll have to find out about this route from a WinXP forum.

have fun

Nerderello

Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

Just Joined!
    Thanks !