Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hi, I'm new to linux but I think I'm getting somewhere with it. I've been trying to sort out playing online streaming videos like youtube and BBC i player and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

problems installing faac/ playing online videos

Hi, I'm new to linux but I think I'm getting somewhere with it. I've been trying to sort out playing online streaming videos like youtube and BBC i player and discovered I needed the Mpeg aac decoder. so I've downloaded faac but installing it seems to be more of a problem. 'bootstrap' and 'configure' seem to work fine but 'make' just gets the response "command not found". I've attached the full terminal read out in a text file. Can anyone help, this has been frustrating me for a while now. Is faac even the right thing to use for mandriva?
    Attached Files Attached Files

You should not need to build faac from source. I'm sure there must be a package available for it.

Go to Easy URPMI and enable the full set of official medias and the PLF (Penguin Liberation Front) media, then look for it with your package manager.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the advice. I went to Easy Urpmi and enabled the official medias fine but the PLF ones gave an error message (attached). I then went to my install manager and installed all the missing gstreamer plugins as codeina said I was missing gstreamer 0.10-faad. I checked youtube to see if this worked and it does but streams quite jerkily. BBC iplayer still doesn't work at all. Any ideas what I might be missing?

Hmm, I would guess they're having trouble with the mirrors.

Try it this way. Open a terminal and do
    Code:
    su -
    urpmi.addmedia –distrib http://distrib-coffee.ipsl.jussieu.fr/pub/linux/plf/mandriva/cfg/2010.0/i586
    Since you were using a mirror based in France from your output, this is a different France-based mirror to try.

Linux User