Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
Thanks. /dev/sda5 /media/win_d fuseblk rw,allow_other,blksize=4096 0 0...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43

    Thanks.
    /dev/sda5 /media/win_d fuseblk rw,allow_other,blksize=4096 0 0

  2. #12
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    I don't know what fuseblk is as file system, nor allow_other is as an option. You are probably using fuse (File System in Userspace).

    If you can browse your files from the desktop, you should be able to browse from a file dialog.

    You may unmount the NTFS partition, edit /etc/fstab, change the line concerning win_d and mount it again. Better to do it the following way rather than through drakdisk so as not to lose data in case something goes wrong.

    As root in a console
    Code:
    umount /media/win_d
    kwrite /etc/fstab
    #Change the line containing win_d to
    /dev/sda5 /media/win_d ntfs umask=000,iocharset=utf8 0 0
    mount /media/win_d

  3. #13
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Lets check the partition structure of your harddisk and mounted partitions. Open Terminal/Konsole and execute this
    Code:
    su -
    fdisk -l
    df -h
    Post output here.

    * Its small L in fdisk -l.

    There is no need to use any option in mount command except defaults and umask.
    Code:
    /dev/sda5 /media/win_d ntfs-3g defaults,umask=0  0  0
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    Disk /dev/sda: 163.9 GB, 163928604672 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19929 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x82898289

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 4468 35889178+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 4469 19929 124190482+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 4469 19929 124190451 7 HPFS/NTFS
    [root@localhost chris]# df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda1 34G 4.4G 28G 14% /
    /dev/sda5 119G 60G 60G 51% /media/win_d

    Is sda2 another partition, I thought I only had two? Do think remounting is my best option now, is this a bit risky?

  5. #15
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    /dev/sda2 is an Extended Partition. /dev/sda5 is a Logical Partition inside Extended Partition.

    Create a mount_point (folder) for NTFS partition and edit /etc/fstab file.
    Code:
    su -
    mkdir /media/data
    nano /etc/fstab
    Add this line
    Code:
    /dev/sda5 /media/data  ntfs-3g   defaults,umask=0  0  0
    Press Ctrl+X, Y and hit Enter key to save file. If there is any other line for /dev/sda5, delete that line.

    If nano command throws any error, use any other text editor like vi, pico, vim.
    Reboot machine and check /media/data folder. You will have full access in it.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    The nano command didn't work on bash and I couldn't find a way to run vim, although i believe I do have it somewhere. Instead I went with Nmsets idea of unmounting and using kwrite. I unmounted fine but the problem is Kwrite crashed so I now have no access at all to the partition. Can you guys make out what this error message might mean?

    Application: KWrite (kwrite), signal: Segmentation fault
    [KCrash Handler]
    #5 0xb620e913 in QDataStream::operator>> () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
    #6 0xb64a5b66 in KServiceFactory::KServiceFactory () from /usr/lib/libkdecore.so.5
    #7 0xb64a5ebc in KServiceFactory::self () from /usr/lib/libkdecore.so.5
    #8 0xb649d685 in KService::serviceByDesktopName () from /usr/lib/libkdecore.so.5
    #9 0xb769c764 in KTextEditor::EditorChooser::editor () from /usr/lib/libktexteditor.so.4
    #10 0xb781dbb2 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libkdeinit4_kwrite.so
    #11 0xb7820732 in kdemain () from /usr/lib/libkdeinit4_kwrite.so
    #12 0x0804856b in _start ()

    or the terminal screen

    [root@localhost chris]# kwrite /etc/win_d
    kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/lib/libkdeinit4_klauncher.so
    kdeinit4: Communication error with launcher. Exiting!
    KCrash: Application 'kwrite' crashing...
    sock_file=/root/.kde4/socket-localhost/kdeinit4__0
    Warning: connect() failed: : Connection refused
    KCrash cannot reach kdeinit, launching directly.

    [2]+ Stopped kwrite /etc/win_d
    [root@localhost chris]# QPainter::end: Painter ended with 2 saved states

    [2]- Exit 253 kwrite /etc/win_d


    Is it dangerous to re-mount using the control centre, I really don't want to lose any data. If not, what should I define as the mount point?

  7. #17
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    1. If you change your partition file system type in MCC, it may become dangerous if you can't follow what's going on. That's why I prefered you do it the other way.

    2. Never mind about kwrite crashing. You may prefer to use Midnight commander in a terminal. If not installed yet, as root

    Code:
    urpmi mc
    mcedit /etc/fstab
    Please note that /etc/win_d points to nothing.

    vi and vim are for the brave.

    3. The mountpoint is any directory you want, just create it somewhere.

  8. #18
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You can use kwrite or any other text editor.
    Its a bug in Mandriva. You can not open Kwrite with root privileges.
    Open /etc/fstab file in kate with root privileges and edit at as I suggested earlier.
    Create /media/data first.

    Its really easy to use vi or vim.
    Code:
    su -
    vi /etc/fstab
    Press i and edit file.
    Press Esc key, : (fullcolon) and x to save file.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    Thanks to both of you. I used vim and followed your instructions and all is fine. All my files now in the /media section.

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    Actually, it isn't fine! The whole partition has disappeared. Just turned on my computer to find all the files that had been in /media/win_d no longer exist. This is pretty awful, I think might have a bit of a panic now. Help!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •