Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
Is there a way to make the files in my NTFS volume partition as easy to access as the root and home directories? I keep all my music, photo and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43

    problems accessing ntfs volume


    Is there a way to make the files in my NTFS volume partition as easy to access as the root and home directories? I keep all my music, photo and media files on this partition (which was created when I used xp) but I'm finding it impossible to upload from it. For example, when trying to put photos on facebook the uploader doiesn't even give me the option of browsing the volume. What I'd like is to be able to browse and upload as easily as I did with xp. Can anyone help? Im using mandriva 2010.

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    As root, open Mandriva Control Center
    Local disks/Manage partitions (wordings may not be exact)
    Locate your NTFS partition which should appear in blue, define a mountpoint, mount, sae to fstab on quit.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    Hi nmset, I've got as far as the manage disk partitions screen, but it doesn't show anything

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    but it doesn't show anything
    I'm afraid I don't know how to understand it.

    As root then, run drakdisk in a console. This should popup a window where you see all your partitions in a horizontal bar. On the right are buttons where you set a mount point.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    ok, it just took awhile to appear. The partition is already mounted anyway. I probably wasn't clear, I can access the volume on my desktop ok (if slightly long winded), the problem is browsing and uploading from it on various websites.

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    Usually, in a default setup, you can browse any mountpoint in any file manager or file dialog box.

    Can you post the line in /etc/mtab concerning this partition ?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    It says the mount point is /media/win_d. The device is sda5 and the type is NTFS 3G.

  9. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    The whole line as is would say how it is mounted, there are many mount options.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    Sorry, I'm a clueless newbie, how do I view the whole line?

  11. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    In a console :

    Code:
    grep win_d /etc/mtab

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •