Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35
It has got nothing to do with Ubuntu, and don't edit this file. Have you rebooted after installing the new kernel ? You must reboot and select the new kernel ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292

    It has got nothing to do with Ubuntu, and don't edit this file.

    Have you rebooted after installing the new kernel ? You must reboot and select the new kernel entry in the Grub menu. If not, you're still running the 2.6.31.5 one.

    menu.lst should not be blank however.

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    Its not completely blank. There's a row of blue ~'s running down the left side of the screen and at the bottom it says:
    "/boot/grub/menu.1st" [New File] 0,0-1 All

  3. #23
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    It's not menu.1st, it's menu.lst, thats an L.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    ok, easy mistake though
    I can't figure how to modify grub, and even if I did it doesn't show the kernel I've just installed (2.6.32.6) on the list. The latest it shows is 2.6.31.6, what gives?

  6. #25
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    The simplest way is to run make install again, grub menu gets modified at the same time. If 2.6.32.6 does not appear, it's not 2.6.32.6 you compiled.

    You can also add the entry through MCC or by editing menu.lst but it won't be the simplest way.

  7. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    I think it might not appear because the make install doesn't perform the 3 installs it's supposed to. this is what happens:
    [root@localhost linux-2.6.32.6]# make install
    sh /usr/src/linux-2.6.32.6/arch/x86/boot/install.sh 2.6.32.6 arch/x86/boot/bzImage \
    System.map "/boot"
    defaulting background resolution to 1024x768

    Shouldn't it mention # config-2.6.32.6 and # vmlinuz-2.6.32.6 as well?

    It is on the grub menu now as:
    title 2.6.32.6
    kernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32.6 BOOT_IMAGE=2.6.32.6 root=UUID=38dc99ba-b259-4fb5-b40d-5ebd87acb3b5 splash=silent vga=788
    initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd-2.6.32.6.img

    Strange there's no mention of "desktop" or "-1mnb"

  8. #27
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    Can you boot on this new kernel now ?

  9. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    yes, I changed it to the default boot and it worked though a very slow on the first start up. However, the Nvidia installer still gives me the same annoying message "If you are using a Linux 2.6 kernel, please make sure you have configured kernel sources, blah, blah, blah..."

  10. #29
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    That's quite strange. There are certainly many versions of the nvidia driver and you should be careful selecting the right one for your video card.

    Can you also post the output of :

    Code:
    find /lib/modules -name nvidia*
    rpm -qa | grep nvidia
    The very slow first boot is probably due to DKMS trying to build the module, from Mandriva installed files.
    0 + 1 = 1 != 2 <> 3 != 4 ...
    Until the camel can pass though the eye of the needle.

  11. #30
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    Yeah, the second boot was quicker. Heres the results:
    [root@localhost chris]# find /lib/modules -name nvidia*
    /lib/modules/2.6.31.5-desktop-1mnb/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia
    /lib/modules/2.6.31.5-desktop-1mnb/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia/nvidiafb.ko.gz
    /lib/modules/2.6.31.6-desktop-1mnb/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia
    /lib/modules/2.6.31.6-desktop-1mnb/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia/nvidiafb.ko.gz
    /lib/modules/2.6.31.6-desktop-1mnb/dkms/drivers/char/drm/nvidia-current.ko.gz
    /lib/modules/2.6.31.6-desktop-1mnb/dkms-binary/drivers/char/drm/nvidia-current.ko.gz
    /lib/modules/2.6.32.6/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia
    /lib/modules/2.6.32.6/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia/nvidiafb.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.32.6/dkms/drivers/char/drm/nvidia-current.ko
    [root@localhost chris]# rpm -qa | grep nvidia
    dkms-nvidia-current-190.53-1mdv2010.0
    nvidia-current-kernel-2.6.31.6-desktop-1mnb-185.18.36-4mdv2010.0
    nvidia-current-kernel-desktop-latest-185.18.36-1.20091209.4mdv2010.0
    nvidia-current-doc-html-190.53-1mdv2010.0
    x11-driver-video-nvidia-current-190.53-1mdv2010.0

    Does this mean my current driver is the 190.53? I was tryinhg to install the earlier 173.14.12 as thats what the installer told me would be the correct driver.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •