Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi..im new to linux..iam using compaq armada e500 laptop..I installed mandriva 2008 in my laptop. everything is workin normal..but sound is not working..plz guide me in detail THOUFEEQ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

No sound in mandriva 2008

hi..im new to linux..iam using compaq armada e500 laptop..I installed mandriva 2008 in my laptop.
    everything is workin normal..but sound is not working..plz guide me in detail

THOUFEEQ

Linux User
    There can be a lot of reasons for this, from basic lack of mixer tuning by yourself to hardware incompatibility, the latter one being more probable from an old Mandriva version running on recent hardware( I don't know if your machine is a recent one).

Have you run the sound GUI wizard from Mandriva Control Center ?
    Have you setup mixer settings ?
    Are you familiar with the command line in a terminal to debug further the problem ?
    Are you ready to switch to Mandriva 2010 ? That would be easier for most of us willing to dig in the problem deeper.

Just Joined!

no sound in mandriva 2008

Quote Originally Posted by nmset View Post
    There can be a lot of reasons for this, from basic lack of mixer tuning by yourself to hardware incompatibility, the latter one being more probable from an old Mandriva version running on recent hardware( I don't know if your machine is a recent one).

Have you run the sound GUI wizard from Mandriva Control Center ?
    Have you setup mixer settings ?
    Are you familiar with the command line in a terminal to debug further the problem ?
    Are you ready to switch to Mandriva 2010 ? That would be easier for most of us willing to dig in the problem deeper.
    Thank you for your response. Im using old machine only,its configuration is p3.my system information as follows
    K.D.E version:3.5.7
    user:asa
    host name:Local host
    system:Linux
    release:2.6.22.9-desktop586-1mdv