Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
I am still losing a cd writer drive. when i reboot it works awhile then if i go into k3b it says it can't find an optical drive. i am ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    168

    still missing


    I am still losing a cd writer drive. when i reboot it works awhile then if i go into k3b it says it can't find an optical drive. i am hoping someone can help

    Bower

  2. #12
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    It's a very strange situation and I'm not sure I can be of help efficiently.

    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    hal-find-by-capability --capability storage
    ls -l /dev/sr0
    when it's working and when it's out ?
    0 + 1 = 1 != 2 <> 3 != 4 ...
    Until the camel can pass though the eye of the needle.

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    168

    results

    [travis@localhost ~]$ hal-find-by-capability --capability storage
    /org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/storage_serial_HP_psc_2175_MY3A7F843Q73_0_0
    /org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/storage_model_iHAP122___9
    /org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/storage_serial_Maxtor_6L200P0_L40GQ9DH
    /org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/storage_serial_ST3160815A_6RA18EJ6
    [travis@localhost ~]$ ls -l /dev/sr0
    brw-rw----+ 1 root cdrom 11, 0 2010-03-29 13:09 /dev/sr0

  4. #14
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    292
    Unfortunately, I can't say whether HAL is managing your drive at all as the output does not clearly identify a CD/DVD drive.
    You may repeat with
    Code:
    hal-find-by-capability --capability storage.cdrom
    when it's UP and when it's DOWN.

    There does not seem to be permissions problems to /dev/sr0
    0 + 1 = 1 != 2 <> 3 != 4 ...
    Until the camel can pass though the eye of the needle.

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    168

    Solved

    i had the jumpers on the drives set to cable select. i changed them to master slave and now they work. thank you all for all your help. maybe this will help someone else.

    Bower

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •