Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, please be gentle with me, I'm a newb. This is on Mandrake 10 community download. I am trying to get internet access going in KDE. My Mandrake PC has ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help! can ping my wireless router/network but can't surf net

Hi,

please be gentle with me, I'm a newb.

This is on Mandrake 10 community download.

I am trying to get internet access going in KDE. My Mandrake PC has a Belkin FD7000uk PCI 54g wireless card which talks to a wireless bridge which talks to a WinXP PC via its wireless PCI card which goes via RJ45 to a switch which has the ADSL router plugged in via RJ45. All this works lovely when booting the Mandrake box under a dual-boot WinXP partition. Both PCs can ping each other and surf the net using the ADSL router as a gateway when both run WinXP.

I want to get the Mandrake PC configured so I can surf the net under KDE and use XMLTV to get listings and not have to dual-boot to WinXP on that PC.

After googling a lot I managed to configure the wlan0 device to connect to the wireless bridge with ndiswrapper. From the Mandrake PC I can now ping successfully the IP of the wireless bridge, the IP of the WinXP PC and the IP of the ADSL router. I can also open the configuration HTML screens of both my wireless bridge and ADSL router if I http:// to their IP addresses directly in Konqueror. I thought I was home and dry.

However if I try to surf the internet with Konqueror I get "page not founds" for everything.

I realise I probably need to do some config to tell Mandrake that it should use wlan0 as the internet connetion. Or maybe I need to put my internet provider's DNS IPs somewhere but I can't find how to do either.