Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi everyone, I am running Windows Vista, Ubuntu 10.4, and Mandriva on a Dell Inspiron 530S. After a recent re-installation of Windows I noticed that I had lost Ubuntu after ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    31

    Can't Boot Mandriva


    Hi everyone, I am running Windows Vista, Ubuntu 10.4, and Mandriva on a Dell Inspiron 530S. After a recent re-installation of Windows I noticed that I had lost Ubuntu after re-installing Ubuntu I haven't been able to boot Mandriva. It doesn't show-up on the boot menu. I sure could use some help here. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Its really easy to add Mandriva in GRUB Menu. Which version of Ubuntu are you using?

    If you are using latest version then execute sudo update-grub command in Terminal. It will detect Mandriva and add an entry for it in GRUB Menu.

    In case you are using earlier version, post the output of sudo fdisk -l and df -h commands here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    31

    Can't Boot Mandriva

    Hi devils casper,
    Thank you for your reply. I tried what you suggested to no avail. I have Ubuntu 10.4 installed. Following are some results I obtained from the commands that you stated:
    Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x28000000

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 6 48163+ de Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2 7 1312 10485760 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 * 1312 17089 126726657+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda4 17089 38913 175306593+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 26450 38400 95996376 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 38401 38913 4120641 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda7 17089 26062 72080384 83 Linux
    /dev/sda8 26063 26449 3107840 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    gdawg@glen-desktop:~$ sudo fdisk df-h


    Unable to open df-h

    Searching for GRUB installation directory ... found: /boot/grub
    Searching for default file ... found: /boot/grub/default
    Testing for an existing GRUB menu.lst file ... found: /boot/grub/menu.lst
    Searching for splash image ... none found, skipping ...
    Found kernel: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-24-generic
    Found kernel: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-23-generic
    Found kernel: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-21-generic
    Found GRUB 2: /boot/grub/core.img
    Found kernel: /boot/memtest86+.bin
    Updating /boot/grub/menu.lst ... done

    After updating grub I rebooted but still no Mandriva on the menu; menu heading is GNU GRUB version 1.98-ubuntu7 and lists 6 versions of Ubuntu with Linux, then 2 Memory tests, Windows Recovery Environment, 2 linux, 1 failsafe, and 3 desktops.
    I hope this info will help you to help me.

    Regards,
    Glen

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Something is wrong with Mandriva installation because GRUB2 detect all installed OSes very well and It should have done that with Mandriva too.

    Have you tried to mount / partition of Mandriva in Ubuntu to check its contents?

    There is a space between df and -h.
    Code:
    df -h
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Something is wrong with Mandriva installation because GRUB2 detect all installed OSes very well and It should have done that with Mandriva too.

    Have you tried to mount / partition of Mandriva in Ubuntu to check its contents?

    There is a space between df and -h.
    Code:
    df -h
    Post output here.
    gdawg@glen-desktop:~$ sudo df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda7 68G 4.9G 60G 8% /
    none 1002M 308K 1002M 1% /dev
    none 1006M 272K 1006M 1% /dev/shm
    none 1006M 92K 1006M 1% /var/run
    none 1006M 0 1006M 0% /var/lock
    none 1006M 0 1006M 0% /lib/init/rw
    Here are results from sudo df -h. Thanks.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    cd /media
    sudo mkdir mandriva
    sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sda5  /media/mandriva
    cd mandriva
    ls
    Does ls command list file structure of Mandirva correctly?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Execute this
    Code:
    cd /media
    sudo mkdir mandriva
    sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sda5  /media/mandriva
    cd mandriva
    ls
    Does ls command list file structure of Mandirva correctly?
    Here are the results of commands;
    gdawg@glen-desktop:~$ cd /media
    gdawg@glen-desktop:/media$ sudo mkdir mandriva
    [sudo] password for gdawg:
    gdawg@glen-desktop:/media$ sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sda5 /media/mandriva
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda5,
    missing codepage or helper program, or other error
    In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
    dmesg | tail or so

    gdawg@glen-desktop:/media$ cd mandriva
    gdawg@glen-desktop:/media/mandriva$ ls
    gdawg@glen-desktop:/media/mandriva$ ls

    Hope this helps. Thank you.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    In which filesystem did you format Mandriva's / partition?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    31

    Can't Boot Mandriva

    I think it was GRUB. It's whatever came with Mandriva 2010 Powerpack that I purchased 11/09. I originally had Windows Vista, then installed Mandriva and later installed Ubuntu 10.4. At that point the boot-menu showed Mandriva first and Windows after. When I selected Windows it showed Windows and Ubuntu. After I restored Window's to factory condition I could still access Mandriva but not Ubuntu. I have been unable to access Mandriva since I re-installed Ubuntu. I think Mandriva might be located on /sda7 of the hard drive because that partition has the most Gb after I have (I think) accounted for the other O/S's. I appreciate your assistance. Hope this helps.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    31
    Hi devils casper, please disregard last post. Further research revealed that the Mandriva 2010 default file system was 'ext4'. The desktop was KDE 4.3.2. I hope this is the info that you asked for. Thanks again for your patience and assistance. Newbie but learning. Cheers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •