Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
i am new to linux and software raid, so if i post in the wrong place or if my problem has been answered; please point me in the right direction. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

trouble with raid 5

i am new to linux and software raid, so if i post in the wrong place or if my problem has been answered; please point me in the right direction.

i am using mandriva x86-64 free (installed on separate drive from raid) for local file serving with software raid 5(formatted as ntfs) with 4x 2tb through cheap pci addin card (i think some sort of silicon image). it was working great until it disappeared yesterday (possible power outage). just the folder is there and properties say 1.7 GiB of 11.8GiB. in control center, under local dicks, to manage partitions the raid tab has disappeared, but all drives still show up. how do i rebuild it i have around 3tb of data that i need or is it lost. please help

Linux Guru
    You formatted this with NTFS? In a *Nix system......?

This is a common result of NTFS corruption (other filesystems as well.) Your *best* bet would be to boot to a Windows environment and run a Windows chkdsk. Linux has no NTFS check utility.

This also requires that the RAID set will build/mount under Windows. So if you used the Linux software md driver, you are out of luck. If it's done thru the SI card, it may show up in Windows.

Just Joined!
    the drives are formmatted as linux raid, but my friend told me since all other pc ran windows that formatting raid5 as ntfs would be best. the card was only used to gain more sata ports(not configed for raid). am i using linux md driver? if so is there any other way?

thanks

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Guru
    Your friend is very wrong. Yes, it sounds like you're using the md driver. (Can confirm by looking at df -ah and seeing if /dev/mdX is mounted.)