Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am trying to get dual monitors set up and can't seem to find some simple instructions on how to do so. I am new to Linux but am quite ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Dual Monitors

I am trying to get dual monitors set up and can't seem to find some simple instructions on how to do so. I am new to Linux but am quite capable of learning, just like to have things explained. Most of the instructions I have found seem to be geared toward experienced users and/or are years old so may not apply/may have an easier way.

I have the following setup:

MB - MSI 770-G45
    CPU - AMD Phenom II 1090T 6-core 3.2GHz
    GPU - Radeon HD 5770 Sapphire 100283-3L 1GB
    Monitor - Dual Gateway 23" HD Widescreens

Any advice is appreciated, and anyone willing to detail what to do with explanations is extreamly appreciated!

On a side note, when trying the live CD I had spiffy animations when switching desktops, how can I enable that now?

Thanks!

Talking

Hi there ChaoticTheory...

First up, I haven't looked at your profile, but what flavour of Linux are you using? Ubuntu, Mandriva? This will affect the type of response you get, as they all have different tools.

However, first thing is to install the propriety ATI drivers for your card. Check out the following link:

ATI Catalyst? Proprietary Display Driver

This is for a Radeon HD 5x series card, running in Linux 32-bit. There are links on the same page for selecting other varients.

Download the file, then open a terminal and:

> su -
    password:
    > cd /directory/where/you/downloaded/the/run/file/
    > ./ati-driver-installer-10-9-x86.x86_64.run

and follow the prompts. It used to be a lot more complicated, but video drivers have come a very long way in Linux!

Once you have that installed, post back on your progress, and I (or someone else) will help you further. Let's call this step 1.
    Respectfully... Sarlac II