Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 57
Originally Posted by lokoalex Yes I still have the Mepis CD. I also have the Mandrake CD, Linspire, Yoper, Fedora Core, FreeBSD, Gentoo, Knopix, Vector, Slackware, Mizi, and Debian. Which ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496

    Quote Originally Posted by lokoalex
    Yes I still have the Mepis CD. I also have the Mandrake CD, Linspire, Yoper, Fedora Core, FreeBSD, Gentoo, Knopix, Vector, Slackware, Mizi, and Debian. Which one would you like me to work with. Just take me step by step. I can learn from this.
    Well, of all those listed, Mepis and Knoppix are the only LiveCDs, and since I'm more familiar with Mepis we'll use that. Stick the Mepis CD in your computer and let it boot from the CD. You'll get a bunch of options for which kernel to boot; just pick one. When you get the login prompt you'll want to log in as root. The password is root.

    Now, let me say that you should never EVER log in as root this way, but because this is the easiest way to do what you need to do from the Mepis LiveCD, I'm recommending it here.

    NOTE: If you see a "hard drive" icon on your desktop and you can open it to view files, skip the next section.

    ====BEGIN SKIP
    Once you're logged in you should see an icon either on your desktop or in your menus called "QtParted". It might be named "partitions" or "partition manager" as well. Open it and you should see a list of devices (CDROM drives, harddrives). Right click on the harddrive icon and click "mount", unless it's already mounted.

    Then open up a console and type:

    Code:
    cd /mnt/hda
    The name hda may be different. Some systems may identify your CDROMs first, making your harddrive hdb or hdc, so if the first one doesn't work keep adding a letter until you figure it out.
    ======END SKIP

    Once you're there type (in the console):

    Code:
    cat /etc/inittab
    Copy and paste the output of this here. Also add:

    Code:
    cat /boot/grub.lst
    And post it as well.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  2. #12
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    You could also pop in the MDK disc and install lilo or re-install grub. That might help.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    102
    OK from the mepis machine I got this far so far.



    root@1[root]# cd /mnt/hda6
    root@1[hda6]# cat /etc/inittab
    #
    # inittab This file describes how the INIT process should set up
    # the system in a certain run-level.
    #
    # Author: Miquel van Smoorenburg, <miquels@drinkel.nl.mugnet.org>
    # Modified for RHS Linux by Marc Ewing and Donnie Barnes
    #

    # Default runlevel. The runlevels used by Mandrake Linux are:
    # 0 - halt (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
    # 1 - Single user mode
    # 2 - Multiuser, without NFS (The same as 3, if you do not have networking)
    # 3 - Full multiuser mode
    # 4 - unused
    # 5 - X11
    # 6 - reboot (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
    #
    id:5:initdefault:

    # System initialization.
    si::sysinit:/etc/init.d/rcS

    l0:0:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 0
    l1:1:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 1
    l2:2:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 2
    l3:3:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 3
    l4:4:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 4
    l5:5:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 5
    l6:6:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 6

    # What to do in single-user mode.
    ~~:S:respawn:/bin/bash -login >/dev/tty1 2>&1 </dev/tty1

    # What to do when CTRL-ALT-DEL is pressed.
    ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -r now

    # What to do when the power fails/returns.
    pf:owerwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail start
    pn:owerfailnow:/etc/init.d/powerfail now
    po:owerokwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail stop

    # Run gettys in standard runlevels
    1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
    2:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
    3:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
    4:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
    5:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
    6:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6

    The second part of it doesnt work. It tells me that there is no such file or directory.
    Registered user #372186 -- http://counter.li.org

  4. #14
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Ok. The important line was:

    Code:
    id&#58;5&#58;initdefault&#58;
    Had this been id:6:initdefault you would have been in trouble. As it is that's fine. My first theory is disproven. I await the output of your grub.lst.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    102
    When I type in:

    cat /boot/grub.lst

    I get this:

    cat /boot/grub.lst: No such file or directory
    Registered user #372186 -- http://counter.li.org

  6. #16
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Oh.. hmm.. well that means I gave you the wrong file name or location.

    Try cat /etc/grub.conf instead.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #17
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    102
    Nope that didnt work either. I can tell you what is under that directory. In Konqueror I have:
    file:/mnt/hda6/boot
    This is the open window in Konqueror

    In this folder i see a folder called: grub
    And a bunch of files: boot.0300, config-2.6.8.1-10mbk, diag1.img, diag2.img, initrd-2.6.8.1-10mdk, initrd.img, map, message, message-graphic, message-text, system.map-2.6.8.1-10mdk, us.klt, vmlinuz, vmlinuz-2.6.8.1-10mdk

    There are alos files in that grub folder. Would you like those as well?
    Registered user #372186 -- http://counter.li.org

  8. #18
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by lokoalex
    There are alos files in that grub folder. Would you like those as well?
    I'm looking for one of two files: either a grub.conf or a grub.lst. If you can find either of those post its contents.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  9. #19
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    102
    I cannot find the files you are asking about.
    Should I try to reinstall Grub if so, how do I do that using the Mandrake CD?
    Registered user #372186 -- http://counter.li.org

  10. #20
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Wait wait... grrr... I haven't used Mandrake in a while. What about a /boot/grub/menu.lst file? Do you see that?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •