Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Linux and I want to get Mandrake 10.1 Official. I have a Pentium 4 laptop, and I want to make sure I get the right version. The ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Which Mandrake 10.1 do I need? x86, i386 etc...

I'm new to Linux and I want to get Mandrake 10.1 Official. I have a Pentium 4 laptop, and I want to make sure I get the right version. The x86 is for 64-bit processors, yes? Some of the websites don't seem to say which they are selling, but I assume it matters.

Also, if you can recommend a good site to buy from, I'd appreciate that as well.

Thanks a bunch

Xko
    Just Joined!
    x86 (i think) is for 64 bit processors and also Power PC's so yes you're right.

if you're in the uk try here for good priced cd's.

Quote Originally Posted by Xko
    NO! X86_64 is *not* the same as PPC. To install on a PowerPC processor you need the "PPC" version. The new PPC chips are 64-bit but they do not follow the same architecture as AMD64's.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Re: Which Mandrake 10.1 do I need? x86, i386 etc...

Quote Originally Posted by lexx11
    I'm new to Linux and I want to get Mandrake 10.1 Official. I have a Pentium 4 laptop, and I want to make sure I get the right version. The x86 is for 64-bit processors, yes?
    No, x86 is for regular 32-bit processors. Your Pentium 4 is a regular 32-bit processor. 64-bit processors (like the AMD64 or Intel Itanium) require x86_64 or IA64 distributions. If you're looking for a distro to install on a Pentium 4, use x86.
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Xko
    Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    NO! X86_64 is *not* the same as PPC. To install on a PowerPC processor you need the "PPC" version. The new PPC chips are 64-bit but they do not follow the same architecture as AMD64's.
    my bad - guess you learn something new everyday!