Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
i have 10.1 and i also installed madwifi driver for my wireless card.......everything seems ok. "ifconfig" shows ath0 as my card. "iwconfig" shows it also.....but when i use wireless-tools commands ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    39

    still wifi problems


    i have 10.1 and i also installed madwifi driver for my wireless card.......everything seems ok. "ifconfig" shows ath0 as my card. "iwconfig" shows it also.....but when i use wireless-tools commands to access AP, nothing happens. i can't get IP from the router and when i scan using "iwlist ath0 scan" i'm getting that nothing was found.
    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Code:
    ifconfig ath0 up
    dhclient ath0

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    39
    did that and it wouldnt help......it says no DHCPOFFERS received

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    do you have one of those 192.168.x.x networks?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    39
    yes. and i thiink problem lies with linux cuz under win2k i have no problem connecting with AP and connect to internet

  6. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    okay:
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.100
    replacing 192.168.0.100 with your ip address

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    39
    i did that and then i tried dhclient ath0 but it didn't work. other thing: I just noticed that there's warning that i'm getting while running dhclient:

    sit0: unknown hardware adress type 775

    and when i do "iwconfig" i;m getting:

    lo: no wireless extensions
    eth0: no wireless extensions
    sit0: no wireless extensions
    ath0: "whole bunch of parameters"


    what's sit0????

  8. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    no, do the ifconfig instead of dhclient

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    39
    no difference

  10. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    so when you do:
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.100
    ping google.com
    what does it say?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •