Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi all I'm a complete newbie so please bear with me. I've got a netgear wifi pci card and a netgear wifi modem/router Ive been using under windows to connect ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3

    Wifi/router internet connection


    Hi all

    I'm a complete newbie so please bear with me.

    I've got a netgear wifi pci card and a netgear wifi modem/router Ive been using under windows to connect to the internet.

    I'm having trouble with Mandrake. I can connect to the internet If i connect to the router via the ethernet port. I can see the wifi card listed in the hardware profile, but I cant get the two to talk.

    I'm not even sure how to check if my wifi card is working/ testing the signal strength.

    I'm sure there is an easy way of doing this. Any help appreciated

    Ta

    Dan

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    what kind of wireless card is it? (i.e. make/model) and what type of router is it?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3
    I've got a Netgear 54Mbps Wireless PCI Adapter 32bit PCI WG311
    and a Netgear DG834G 54Mbps Wireless ADSL Modem Firewall Router with 4-port 10/100 switch

    Hope this helps

    Dan

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    http://prism54.org/supported_cards.php

    Here you go. Works like a charm for me.
    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  6. #5
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    the prism stuff works like a charm.
    i also posted a short tutorial on how to get another prism54 card working

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    works like a charm
    That my line!!

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  8. #7
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    that my line!
    you're not worthy of it, mister i-have-no-grammar!!!

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for the help guys, but I'm still having trouble.

    It looks as if I've already got Prism54 installed. the wifi card lists the module as madwifi.pci

    I've been trying to load it through the Networking and internet connection, choosing prism 54 as a driver.

    after the autoprobe it throws an error message onto the screen and dissapears before I have a chance to use it.

    Any ideas?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •