Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi ... how do I install yahoo messenger on Mandake ? I have only been able to find it for debian, redhat or free BSD Is there any way, other ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1

    Installing Yahoo messenger on Mandrake 10.0


    Hi ... how do I install yahoo messenger on Mandake ?
    I have only been able to find it for debian, redhat or free BSD

    Is there any way, other than somehow installing Yahoo messenger that I can converse with somebody who is using Yahoo messenger.

    Any help much appreciated
    Brian.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Yes, you can use Kopete in KDE, or Gaim in GNOME; these are IM programs that work with AIM, MSM, YIM, etc;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    28
    download the red hat 8 version rpm one and install it , it can work on mandrake , the redhat 9 version use to give segmentation fault

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    do what dylunio said, they are much better programs than the Linux versions of yahoo messenger.

    for example, I use gaim even in windows, it is just better

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7
    heya,

    I agree to dylunio..........i also u se gaim...............its anyday better that the linux version of yahoo..........

    cheers

    connected

  7. #6
    Xko
    Xko is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by Vergil83

    for example, I use gaim even in windows, it is just better
    gaim for windows! so there is! - gotta have that for my pc at work which runs windows...boooo!

    thanks

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie reiko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    105
    But in Gaim we cannot Sign-in invisible mode. Is there any options for to sign-in invisible mode?

  10. #9
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Hi, reiko

    Please start a new thread for any problems you are having because this one is almost 3 years old already.

    Thanks,

    oz
    oz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •