Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I am running a dual boot system with XP and Mandrakelinux 10.1 It appears that Mandrake installed flawlessly except for the sound card. It indicated "failed" during the initial install ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Sound card issue

I am running a dual boot system with XP and Mandrakelinux 10.1 It appears that Mandrake installed flawlessly except for the sound card. It indicated "failed" during the initial install and boot. When I retried it asked whether or not it is an ISA sound card. I have an ESS1869 card and I do believe it is ISA because the computer was purchased in '98. When ISA was selected I was prompted to enter either "alsaconf" or "sndconfig" at the command line. I am brand new to Linux and am not to familer. I believe I know where the command line is, but could not get this to work. Can anyone help with this?

Just Joined!
    Additional information with the sound. When I boot the system, as KDE 3.2 starts I get this message:

Sound server informational message:
    Error while initializing the sound driver:
    device /dev/dsp can't be opened (No such file or directory)
    The sound server will continue, using the null output device.

Any help is appreciated. TOM

Just Joined!
    I went under system configuration to the sound selection and it looks like 10.1 wants to configure sound but again I get the message on a previous reply above. I think it may be down to a matter of drivers but I am not sure. To be continued...

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!