Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi, I am new to linux and I am now receiving the following line when I boot into linux. kernal panic: no init found. Try passing init= option to kernal. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2

    Help. I cannot boot into Linux


    Hi, I am new to linux and I am now receiving the following line when I boot into linux.

    kernal panic: no init found. Try passing init= option to kernal.

    Dual boot, Win 98SE, AMN 1.8, 512 Ram.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Michael Carey, KD7GHZ

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    please tell us which version of mandrake you are running, how you installed it, and whether you are using LILO or Grub...
    -lakerdonald

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2

    Help, reply

    Mandrake 10
    Lilo
    I installed it from CD purchased from Cheapbytes.

    It was working and quite well. I am not sure but I one of my children shut the computer down in linux without consideration.

    Thanks,

    Mike

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Arkansas USA
    Posts
    56
    I have had the same problem you have lost you inittab file it is or was in etc/
    to fix i need some info cane you boot from CD1 to rescue mode if so ti can be fixed .

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Arkansas USA
    Posts
    56
    Before you continue, did you

    chroot /mnt

    after booting from the CD?

    Booting from the CD gives you a /MNT folder that contains all your hard drive folder, so you can find your /etc folder at

    /mnt/etc

    or you can immediately type

    chroot /mnt

    which changes the root location to /mnt (rendering it invisible). Afterwards, you can type

    cd /etc

    Just check this before you assume its gone..

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    ur processor
    Posts
    11

    pie... reinstall bootloader

    its happened to me before... bcuz im in windoze right now i cant tell you what that line should read but if you reinstall your bootloader from the rescue program on disk 1 then it auto detects your settings and re writes them into your init= line...

    XeroXavier
    DCLXVI
    6 6 6

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •