Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
i just installed new nvidia driver and for some reason it can't be loades as a kernel module automaticly. i have to do it using modprobe command. any ideas?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    39

    nvidia driver not loaded


    i just installed new nvidia driver and for some reason it can't be loades as a kernel module automaticly. i have to do it using modprobe command.

    any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    what exactly were you replying to?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    39
    sound problem

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    39
    that's what i'm getting:

    Code:
    (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
    (EE) NVIDIA(0):  *** Aborting ***
    (II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
    (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.
    
    Fatal server error:
    no screens found

  5. #5
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    what causes that error message to be displayed?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    39
    to get x windows i have to su and modprobe nvidia and log out su and startx.
    any way around that?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    39
    well....i had all configured so i have the graphical screen where you can choose user and log in....but after nvidia driver installation i'm not even getting that. so i tried "startx" to get to the x windows. and that's when i'm getting that msg.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    are you using XFree86 or Xorg?

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    39
    seems like both conf files are in my mdk 10.1 distro. but when i changed XFree86, the second one got changed too.....from control center in mandrake it looks like it's mainly using Xorg.conf one.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    what does the section in your xorg.conf about the video card say?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •