Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I have a new installation of 10.1. I'm new to Mandrake, and somewhat new to Linux in general. The problem is that it won't automatically load KDE for the login ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

KDE problems, new 10.1 install

I have a new installation of 10.1. I'm new to Mandrake, and somewhat new to Linux in general.

The problem is that it won't automatically load KDE for the login screen. I get errors regarding screens if I do a startx from the console. I check xorg.conf and all screens are set to 1280x1024 which isn't supported by my video card. I edit xorg.conf and change all screens to 1024x768. I can then startx and all is fine. However, upon reboot (whether going into KDE after editing xorg.conf or doing an immediate reboot), all screens in xorg.conf are reset to 1280x1024 and it won't boot into KDE.

Obviously I'm missing some pieces to the puzzle. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Linux Guru
    Mandrake has a lot of anoying wizards designed to simplify life, but often times make it difficult if you want to directly edit your config files. Next time you get Xorg working, fire up Mandrake Control Center and set the resolution there. It's probably overwritting your Xorg.conf file everytime you re-start X.

Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

Just Joined!
    Thanks for your suggestion, Jeremy. Here's what I did.

After reboot I was taken to the console login. I logged in, went to su, then edited the screen sizes in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, changing them from 1280x1024 to 1024x768.

Then I did startx to load KDE (forgetting to exit from su and logging into KDE as root), went to the Mandrake Control Center, then to Screen Resolution. It was already showing as 1024x768, so I OK'd and logged off.