Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all. I'm not new to computing, but new to Linux and this forum. What a great OS. I've been using Linux for about 11-12 months now without to much ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Armagetron won't play smoothly anymore..

Hi all.

I'm not new to computing, but new to Linux and this forum. What a great OS. I've been using Linux for about 11-12 months now without to much bother, nothing I couldn't solve myself. There is one problem I'm having at the moment though.

When I run Armagetron it jumps so bad I can't play it... Now the game has been installed on the same machine and worked fine in the past... But for some reason, I can't get it to work now I've reinstalled the pc... any ideas.. I'm not sure what has changed when I've reinstalled the whole machine. I always write step by steps to help with this situation, but seem to have lost it.... and now I'm lost.. Dhooo?????

Armagetron is version 0.2.4 on Mandrake 9. I'm using an NVidea TNT2 32MB. Like I said, I've not changed any hardware which is all working fine. The problem seems to be a configuration issue, I don't think the machine is running Mesa/Opengl correctly; Chromium doesn't play correctly either...

Hope someone can help.

Cheers in advance.

Just Joined!
    Is it really such a hard problem.... Is nobody able to help.. come on dudes any help is really appreciated.

I'm not after any magic answers, though some would be nice.. lol.

I'm finding it hard to get my head around linux's 3D engine capabilities... In windows its Directx/OpenGL etc... How does Linux do it... Any good URL's to tutorials would be really appreciated..

Someone please help.

Just Joined!