Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I am new with Mandrake linux. I had installed and have workt with Linux 9.2 for a few weeks now. I wanted to upgrade to version 10.1 . For that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

login commando after new installation.

I am new with Mandrake linux. I had installed and have workt with Linux 9.2 for a few weeks now. I wanted to upgrade to version 10.1. For that matter I have formated the partition of Linux 9.2 with Partion Magic. After that I installed Mandrake Linux 10.1 On my laptop Is also installed Windows XP. When I start the laptop in the boot screen I can decide which operation system I want to chose.

When I start Mandrake Linux 10.1 the starting screen stops and asks for a loginname and password. Everything I tried I could not pass this hurdle. In frustration I formatted the partion with Mandrake Linux 10.1 again and installed Mandrake Linux 10.1 again. I made certain that I did not fill in a root login and password.
    But after the installation and restarting the computer the booting of Linux stopped again and asks for some commands which I do not untherstand. What is been seen on the screen is this (my name is Hans):

Mandrake linux release 10.1 (official for i5866
    kernel 2.6.8.1 -12mdh on i686 / tty1
    local host login: hans
    Password: .......
    [hans@localhost hans]$hans
    -bash: hbas:command not found

Everytime I fill in as login name my name "hans" and as password the name which I filled in during intallation as my password for my own account.

Please help what must I do with those command lines. What I realy whant I that Linux boots automaticly whithout typing logins and passwords etc.

Hans

Linux Guru