Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, im a newb when it comes to linux. I have recently been forced to copy my files from my winXp hdd to my Mandrake partition due to the dire ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Write my files to windows partition from mandrake

Hi, im a newb when it comes to linux. I have recently been forced to copy my files from my winXp hdd to my Mandrake partition due to the dire need for reformating.
    now that i have it all reformated and running well i have a little problem.
    I want to copy back those files from the mandrake partition to my winxp hdd.
    I have no clue how to do it as my /mnt/windows is always mounted without the write permission. I tried chmod 700 /mnt/windows but it comes up with this message

chmod: changing permissions of `windows/': Read-only file system

Can you please help me, as i am a newb ill prolly need it explained as best as possible.
    This is my fstab btw:
    /dev/hdc1 / ext3 defaults 1 1
    /dev/hdc6 /home ext3 defaults 1 2
    /dev/hda /mnt/cdrom auto umask=0,user,iocharset=iso8859-1,codepage=850,noauto,ro,exec,users 0 0
    /dev/hdb /mnt/cdrom2 auto umask=0,user,iocharset=iso8859-1,codepage=850,noauto,ro,exec,users 0 0
    none /mnt/floppy supermount dev=/dev/fd0,fs=ext2:vfat,--,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-1,sync,codepage=850 0 0
    /dev/sda1 /mnt/windows ntfs umask=0,nls=iso8859-1 0 0
    none /proc proc defaults 0 0
    none /tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/hdc5 swap swap defaults 0 0

Thanx guys i appreciate it heaps

Linux Engineer
    Your windows partition is NTFS, therefor it is impossible to write from linux.
    The solution for your issue, would be to create a partition that is FAT32 this way, both platform would be able to RW to it.

Dont hesitate to hit back if you require more information
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama