Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Having some trouble using the command line in Mandrake 10.1. When I try to use the sudo command for certain tasks, it never recognizes the root password when it asks ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    27

    sudo command in Mandrake broke?


    Having some trouble using the command line in Mandrake 10.1. When I try to use the sudo command for certain tasks, it never recognizes the root password when it asks for it. I'll type in the root password correctly, and I'm not holding down shift or have Caps Lock on, and the system still interprets it as incorrect and asks for the password again. Anybody have any similar problems with sudo and/or how to fix it?

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Strange you should mention this. I had the exact same problem with Fedora Core 2 once. I only wanted sudo for one app so it wasn't a big problem. I don't know how to fix it.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    sudo doesn't ask for the root password. It asks for the users password. that's the idea behind it - to give temporary root access to trusted users.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris H
    sudo doesn't ask for the root password. It asks for the users password. that's the idea behind it - to give temporary root access to trusted users.
    Neither worked for me.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Quote Originally Posted by Dapper Dan
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris H
    sudo doesn't ask for the root password. It asks for the users password. that's the idea behind it - to give temporary root access to trusted users.
    Neither worked for me.
    Are you listed in /etc/sudoers?
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  7. #6
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    It was a while back, but I remember going through the process. Presently I have SuSE 9.1 set up to sudo wvdial in case my broadband goes out.

    After setting up sudo in FC2, it would repeatedly ask for the password and never accept it. I may have configured something wrong, but I have sudo configured and running without problems under SuSE so I don't know what I may have done differently.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    27
    Okay, I see now. I added my account to /etc/sudoers and it's now working. Thanks for the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •