Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Rubberman
Hey all; I've been off for quite a while, mostly because I haven't been owning a computer. Now I have one that comes with Windows 7, which I find rather ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question Conver virtual Mageia to Physical?

Hey all;

I've been off for quite a while, mostly because I haven't been owning a computer.
    Now I have one that comes with Windows 7, which I find rather useful for work stuff and etc. Buuut, I have downloaded Oracle's VM Virtualbox, and I feel tempted to try out some Linuxes, as I would like to know how they have improved.

Thing is, I'm a bit of a noob, so I have a question that might seem silly.
    Is it possible to turn the Linux VM into a full blown partition if I wanted to?

All I found that might seem relevant is this:

http://www.vmware.com/support/v2p/doc/V2P_TechNote.pdf

But I don''t know if those are the correct instructions, and if they are, I don't know if a newbie can follow them.

Any ideas on how to achieve this in a simple, yet effective way?

Thanks!

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    When you install a system in a VM such as VirtualBox, it thinks it is already running on a physical system. Since it is using some of the VM software's drivers and virtual hardware, you can't just "move" it to a physical device/partition. You can obviously backup your data, but you will need to re-install physically, including applications, and then move your data to the new physical device. A PITA, and if you figure out a way around this conundrum, I would be the first to want to know how!
    marianogedisman likes this.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!