Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Hi! I am new here. I tried installing Mandrake 10.1 Official on my ThinkPad R30. I encountered no problems during the installation process but when it came to the point ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6

    Mandrake 10.1 installation problems


    Hi! I am new here. I tried installing Mandrake 10.1 Official on my ThinkPad R30. I encountered no problems during the installation process but when it came to the point that I was booting it up, that's when trouble started.

    I chose linux in LILO and I had it in verbose mode and there were no apparent problems. I was expecting the log on dialog, like which user would log in but nothing came up on the screen. I left it like that, thinking it might take a while but still nothing happened. I tried re-installing but the same problem happened. Please help me. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    When you ran the Xorg wizrd and setup your GUI, did you select the option to automatically start X when booting?

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6
    I know I did. Hmmm. Maybe I should try re-installing MDk 10.1 official later and see that. But I think I did.

    I'll post again sometime towards the end of the week, unless I get to install it later.

    Thanks for pointing it out to me. I will have to double check when I install.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Make sure that you run the Xorg config tool. It's easy to miss as you have to select it. You're no longer prompted for it.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6

    XOrg

    I tried reinstalling last night. I selected the option to run XOrg but when I rebooted, nothing happened.

    On LILO I selected linux then hit the ESC key to get into verbose mode. After the messages appeared, the hourglass appeared. Then nothing happened

    I am not sure what to do anymore. Maybe it's a bad copy of the ISOs? Or bad media?

    What do you think?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Did you test the Xorg configuration when you ran the wizard? If so, you should have seen a rainbow background with an option to accept or reject the settings. If it worked and you accepted the settings and made sure to start X on startup, then that's bad If you didn't do those steps, try it one more time.

    If you did all those, try booting into single user mode, then run the command

    Code:
    cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE
    Post the results here.
    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    6
    I will post an update once I try this out. Thanks again!

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3

    I encounted the same problem on my notebook ACER 1861WLMI

    Installed smoothly, configed the XORg and setted to autostart with X, install LILO on the linux partion, after reboot it shows BIOS data checked and cannot continue bootup.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    7
    when i installed 10.1 its skipped where i should shouse root.. what should i do??how log in?

  11. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907

    Re: I encounted the same problem on my notebook ACER 1861WLM

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy_He
    Installed smoothly, configed the XORg and setted to autostart with X, install LILO on the linux partion, after reboot it shows BIOS data checked and cannot continue bootup.
    So now you have a different probem
    Do you have any external devices attached on your USB port? I've heard this can cause problems? Also are you by chance using RAID?

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •