Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello All, I am a new Linux user and need some help in installing g++ in Madrake 10.1. I have installed all the updates and GCC works but g++ doesnot. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1

    G++ command not found? even if GCC is installed and


    Hello All,

    I am a new Linux user and need some help in installing g++ in Madrake 10.1. I have installed all the updates and GCC works but g++ doesnot. I need to use this g++ another free software. Any ideas how to configure or reinstall GCC or g++??

    Thanks a lot.

    --Alokshree

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    I believe that g++ is in a seperate package. It's called gcc-c++.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    Yeah, you'll most likely need to install the g++ rpm.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    You'll also have to check the version that is required to compile your app.. I had issues with newer compiler on older soft. I ended up installing an old compiler for that soft to compile properly....

    I don't no if it's supose to do that but in any case,...
    Dont hesitate to hit back if more informations are needed
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    Was it C or C++? GCC 3 doesn't do C as well as 2.95.3, but it does do C++ better from what I've seen. I'm curious to see what kind of things happen with GCC 4.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1
    hi Jeremy,

    thanks for the fix. I have installed mine using yum install gcc-c++

    Ganesh

    Quote Originally Posted by jeremy1701 View Post
    I believe that g++ is in a seperate package. It's called gcc-c++.

    Jeremy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •