Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I am new to Linux, so bare with me. I have an HP desktop and after installing Mandrake 10.1 on it smoothly, the bootloader completely freezes. I have tried re-installing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    10

    After installing Mandrake 10.1, having bootloader problems


    I am new to Linux, so bare with me.

    I have an HP desktop and after installing Mandrake 10.1 on it smoothly, the bootloader completely freezes. I have tried re-installing with both LILO and GRUB, and I get the same problem each time. The bootloader has been installed on MBR each time...

    When I use LILO, after I boot my computer it just says L with a repeating 80. (L 80 80 80 80 and so on infinitely). When I use GRUB, it just say GRUB on the screen and doesn't do anything.

    This problem also prevents me from booting into Windows XP. I pretty much can't do anything. I really hope I don't have to do a clean Windows install over this...

    (P.S. I am installing Linux on a different HD than Windows)

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    L 80 means that LILO loaded, but it cannot find the boot.b file (in most cases). Are you sure that LILO is installed, you have disabled any anti-virus in the bios etc? Can you boot into Mandrake using the Mandrake CD any try to see if the path's in lilo.conf are correct?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    10
    I am currently using GRUB, so the LILO info you gave me won't work. I (think) I solved the problem. I changed some configurations in my BIOS regarding the HD and now GRUB loads. The only problem now is that it gives me a command prompt [grub> ] and I don't know what to type in to load anything. It says press tab for a list of commands. I can see the commands, but don't know how to use them.

    I think I type in "kernel /path/to/kernel". If so, what is the path to my kernel?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    10
    Ok, I put the install CD back in, pressed F1 and typed rescue. I chose Mount under /mnt or something like that, and it says cannot find root partition. I chose Re-install bootloader. Same problem.

    I found this link: http://mandrakeusers.org/lofiversion...hp/t20695.html

    That guy seems to have the same problem I have. I don't know, maybe you can glean some information from that post.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    10
    Nevermind, I've got everything working fine now.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Rekkr, can you post the solution for everyone to see?

    Thanks,
    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    10
    I reinstalled but chose "Erase existing partitions" instead of customizing my partitions. Then it asked on which harddrive I wanted this done, and I chose hdb (my second HD). The error must have been in customizing the partitions...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •