Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
Hi again Ugo, I'm afraid I've run into a snag when trying to mount my Windows files. Here's what I get; As myself: martin@dhcppc0 martin]$ mkdir /mnt/win_c mkdir: cannot create ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448

    Hi again Ugo,

    I'm afraid I've run into a snag when trying to mount my Windows files. Here's what I get;
    As myself:

    martin@dhcppc0 martin]$ mkdir /mnt/win_c
    mkdir: cannot create directory `/mnt/win_c': File exists
    [martin@dhcppc0 martin]$

    And as Root:

    Password:
    [root@dhcppc0 martin]# martin@dhcppc0 martin]$ mkdir /mnt/win_c
    bash: martin@dhcppc0: command not found
    [root@dhcppc0 martin]# mkdir: cannot create directory `/mnt/win_c': File exists
    > [martin@dhcppc0 martin]$


    What does this mean? Also, many of my files are on a separate drive that XP runs from, Windows knows it as 'D', Linux saw it as 'hdb' during the original install, can I access that as well?

    Thanks again,

    Martin,

    Dublin, Ireland

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Hi again mate!
    Well mkdir is to create a folder... if it says it already exist, follow to the next step.. which is to mount it
    for the other one, if its not mounted (to know if a device is mounted, type
    Code:
    cat /etc/mtab
    if its not, create a dir in /mnt like /mnt/win_d...
    and use the mount command like the other win_c...

    Code:
    su -> password
    mkdir /mnt/win_c -> skip if exist
    mkdir /mnt/win_d -> skip if exist
    fdisk -l (FDISK -L)
    mount -t vfat /dev/** /mnt/win_c
    mount -t vfat /dev/*** /mnt/win_d
    
    ** -> windows C partition name (usualy hda1)
    *** -> windows D partition name (can be hda2)
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  3. #13
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    Hi again Ugo,

    I must be doing something wrong, this is th read-out I get logged in as root:

    password:
    [root@dhcppc0 martin]# cat /etc/mtab
    /dev/hda5 / ext2 rw 0 0
    none /proc proc rw 0 0
    none /proc/bus/usb usbfs rw 0 0
    none /sys sysfs rw 0 0
    none /mnt/floppy supermount rw,sync,dev=/dev/fd0,fs=ext2:vfat,--,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/win_c vfat rw,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0
    /dev/hdb1 /mnt/win_c2 vfat rw,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0
    [root@dhcppc0 martin]# fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/hda: 30.7 GB, 30735581184 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3736 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 2205 17711631 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/hda2 2206 3736 12297757+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda5 2206 3678 11831841 83 Linux
    /dev/hda6 3726 3736 88326 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hda7 3717 3725 72261 82 Linux swap

    Partition table entries are not in disk order

    Disk /dev/hdb: 40.0 GB, 40027029504 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4866 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hdb1 * 1 4866 39086113+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    [root@dhcppc0 martin]# mount -t vfat /dev/** /mnt/win_c
    Usage: mount -V : print version
    mount -h : print this help
    mount : list mounted filesystems
    mount -l : idem, including volume labels
    So far the informational part. Next the mounting.
    The command is `mount [-t fstype] something somewhere'.
    Details found in /etc/fstab may be omitted.
    mount -a [-t|-O] ... : mount all stuff from /etc/fstab
    mount device : mount device at the known place
    mount directory : mount known device here
    mount -t type dev dir : ordinary mount command
    Note that one does not really mount a device, one mounts
    a filesystem (of the given type) found on the device.
    One can also mount an already visible directory tree elsewhere:
    mount --bind olddir newdir
    or move a subtree:
    mount --move olddir newdir
    A device can be given by name, say /dev/hda1 or /dev/cdrom,
    or by label, using -L label or by uuid, using -U uuid .
    Other options: [-nfFrsvw] [-o options] [-p passwdfd].
    For many more details, say man 8 mount .
    [root@dhcppc0 martin]# ** hda1
    bash: a.out: command not found
    [root@dhcppc0 martin]# *** hdb
    bash: a.out: command not found
    [root@dhcppc0 martin]#

    I''m a bit lost in all the command lines, can you tell what I do next? Thanks for all the help and patience!

    Martin,
    Dublin, Ireland

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    hey martin...
    Your windows partition are /dev/hda1 & /dev/hdb1 (i find it odd that it didnt show up in fdisk -l but we'll see)
    since there already in fstab, simply tyoe
    Code:
    mount -a
    from terminal (as su)

    Hope you get this on the go

    .. your file will be in /mnt/win_c & /mnt/win_c2
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  6. #15
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    Hi Ugo,

    I'm afraid I got nowhere, the commands were mostly thrown back with error messages, but if you don't mind, I'm going to skip this step for a while. I want to enjoy my new Operating System and this is begining to take the joy out of it, I can come back to it later. One option will be to get the boxed set of Mandrake as the facility I had in 8.1 (that was a boxed set I had a loan of) to view all drives contents without mounting or command line may be a package that Mandrake ships only in the box set and if so, upgrading to the boxed package will enable that for me. The only reason I wanted access my Windows files was to play my MP3's through Linux and they're all stored in Windows XP, but not to worry.

    Thanks for all the help, take care.

    Martin,

    Dublin, Ireland

  7. #16
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    Hi again Ugo, thanks for getting back to me so soon!

    As you can see, I seem to be not getting any response, I must be doing something wrong. Here's the data

    [root@dhcppc0 martin]# mount -a
    [root@dhcppc0 martin]# mount -a vfat /dev/** /mnt/win_c
    Usage: mount -V : print version
    mount -h : print this help
    mount : list mounted filesystems
    mount -l : idem, including volume labels
    So far the informational part. Next the mounting.
    The command is `mount [-t fstype] something somewhere'.
    Details found in /etc/fstab may be omitted.
    mount -a [-t|-O] ... : mount all stuff from /etc/fstab
    mount device : mount device at the known place
    mount directory : mount known device here
    mount -t type dev dir : ordinary mount command
    Note that one does not really mount a device, one mounts
    a filesystem (of the given type) found on the device.
    One can also mount an already visible directory tree elsewhere:
    mount --bind olddir newdir
    or move a subtree:
    mount --move olddir newdir
    A device can be given by name, say /dev/hda1 or /dev/cdrom,
    or by label, using -L label or by uuid, using -U uuid .
    Other options: [-nfFrsvw] [-o options] [-p passwdfd].
    For many more details, say man 8 mount .
    [root@dhcppc0 martin]#

    I seem to be going in circles!

    Thanks again,

    Martin,
    Dublin, Ireland

  8. #17
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Hi martin
    Code:
    mount -a
    didnt throw you an error... thats wonderfull!
    root@dhcppc0 martin]# cat /etc/mtab
    /dev/hda5 / ext2 rw 0 0
    none /proc proc rw 0 0
    none /proc/bus/usb usbfs rw 0 0
    none /sys sysfs rw 0 0
    none /mnt/floppy supermount rw,sync,dev=/dev/fd0,fs=ext2:vfat,--,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/win_c vfat rw,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0
    /dev/hdb1 /mnt/win_c2 vfat rw,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0
    That's even 1000000x better!
    mtab are mounted devide dude! meens... it's there! waiting for youto play your favorite MP3...

    go into terminal and type
    Code:
    cd /mnt/win_c
    then 
    ls -l
    all the directory from Windows C: will be there...


    The command
    Code:
    mount -a
    will mount every devices included in /etc/fstab
    since your FSTAB included WIN_C... You follow me?

    now if you type
    Code:
    mount -a vfat /dev/** /mnt/win_c
    your saying to the computer mount ALL with some weird ass options!!! vfat /dev/** /mnt/win_c in the occurence, that why you get all that crap....

    Now to mount manually your Windows C: type
    Code:
    mount vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/win_c
    if you read carefully the instructions I gave you,
    Code:
    vfat /dev/** /mnt/win_c
    the ** were for the device... in the occurence WINDOWS C: = hda1... you still follow me?

    Now, open your file browser and type in the address
    Code:
    file:/mnt/win_c
    now dace to your groove!

    EDIT : Dance not dace...
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  9. #18
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    Hi Ugo,

    WE'RE THERE!!!!! I'm Typing this to you @ 01.33 GMT and ABBA is playing in the backround from my MP3 files,FAB! Thanks a million for all the help, talk to you soon again,maybe next time I'll be helping others by referring them to this thread.

    PS, my wife refers to you as the 'Linux Guru' (that's a compliment!).

    Take care, thanks again.

    Martin,

    Dublin, Ireland
    LINUX: Where do you want to go.......Tomorrow!

    Registered Linux user 396633

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •