Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
This is kind of a stupid question, but here goes. I want to upgrade my machine from 9.1 to 10.1 from the mandrake site. I looked around and found the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    ATL!
    Posts
    117

    Stupid question, but no helpful documentation...


    This is kind of a stupid question, but here goes.

    I want to upgrade my machine from 9.1 to 10.1 from the mandrake site. I looked around and found the i586 files I need to download and looked for instructions on how to upgrade. The official instruction weren't too helpful, so...

    1. Where do I download the files?
    2. How do I begin the upgrade process?
    -Mainly: Do I have to somehow get my machine to reboot and find the files, or is it simply a matter of executing the files in a shell?


    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    are they .iso files or what?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Can't you just do a system update from the Mandrake Control Center?

    And if they're ISO files, you have to burn them, boot them and select upgrade.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    ATL!
    Posts
    117
    @sarumont- no, can't do the system update in 9.1 (one of the reasons to up to 10.1)

    Ok, so download the ISO and then burn it to a cd and it should work right when I boot? Ok I'll try- thank you!

    Like I said earlier- pretty stupid question...

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Mentor, Oh
    Posts
    1
    Speaking from experience, asking dumb questions often prevents hours of frustration. I spent three days trying to install 9.2 from CD's I had burned, before I knew that you have to burn ISo's differently.

    Ask questions.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    ATL!
    Posts
    117
    ok, new question, not so stupid this time.

    I've downloaded the new ISOs for Mandrake.

    I go to burn them in k3b and select the Write ISO Image option, enter in all the data, and click write.

    After about a minute it spits my cd out with a message saying it had a problem with the cache dumping.

    How do I get my darn CD burner working properly? I've had a ton of other problems with it in the past, and just didn't need to fix it at the moment, but now I want it to work. Any help would be appreciated!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •