Find the answer to your Linux question:
first, i am very new to linux... (loving it sofar, other than this problem) i jsut installed Windows XP Pro, then Mandrakelinux 10.1, and have been trying to setup the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

slow internet

first, i am very new to linux... (loving it sofar, other than this problem)

i jsut installed Windows XP Pro, then Mandrakelinux 10.1, and have been trying to setup the OS's... i got WinXP workign fine, and Mandrake working well for the msot part, but when i access the internet on mandrake it goes unbareably slow... like 20-50 Bps, usually... making it pretty impossibel to do anything online... im postign this form Windows, because the internet is working fine on it.

i setup mandrake's network props the same as WinXP's to every extend i could, but tehre were a few properties i didnt recognise, and left as default, such as the "Search Domain", and the optional "Hostname" i left blank...

im using the integrated LAN on my mobo, which is a MSI K7N2 Delta-L (nForce2 ultra-400), and have a Comcast cable connection, running through a router and switch... also, i have been able to ping the router, but not my brothers computer, which is also on the network (runnign WinXP).

anyone have any ideas of what i could do to fix this?

Linux Guru
    Make sure that you have a legitimate IP in your /etc/resolve.conf file. Mine was set to 127.0.0.1 for some bizzare reason.

Any chance you're using IPv6?

Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

Just Joined!
    im not sure what my resolv.conf should look like.. heres it is pasted... i tried commenting out the "nameserver 127.0.0.1" line (after logging in as root), but when i restarted, it showed back up...

searchhost local
    # searchhosthost local
    # nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    # nameserver 127.0.0.1