Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi. I am trying to turn off my linux box but there is no way to do it. I currently use mandrake 9.1 and i have just installed it. The ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342

    The most inadequate thing


    Hi.

    I am trying to turn off my linux box but there is no way to do it. I currently use mandrake 9.1 and i have just installed it. The thing is this: when i go to the menu (the "K" menu right, like the windows start button) and go to the last option called "Logout username". On the previous installation i had, the options to logout, restart and turn off where available, and the dialog had a nice smiley dragon. NOW ALL I AM GETTING IS LOGOFF AND THAT'S IT. How do i return to those settings? How do i get those options to restart and turn off? I know i can't turn the box like a viking, cause then linux won't reboot again, unlike windows. HELP PLEASE, I AM CURRENTLY HAVING 2 MAJOR PROBLEMS, AND THE GHOST OF WINDOWS IS NOW GETTING CLOSER!!!

    PS: i don't want to go back to windows, thus, linux is too complicated for me, but still i am keeping it.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    AU
    Posts
    58
    control center >system administration >login Manager >shutdown

  3. #3
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    Thanks dude, really!!!! Props!!!!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Any idea for Mandrake 10.1?
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    67
    I had a similar problem when I first installed Mandrake - I have since found out if you set the security level too high when installing Mandrake only the root user can physically shutdown and restricted users can only logout.

  7. #6
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    That's probably true, cause i set the security level when installing to high. But as root, i've been able to put that normal screen back, but it disapears eventually after rebooting or shutting down. I haven't been able to keep it all the time.

    And how can i turn off the computer as root? There's a command or what?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    67
    From the command line you can shutdown by using the following

    //login as root
    su
    ********

    //To shutdown (halt)
    shutdown -h now

    //To reboot
    shutdown -r now

    Both of these commands can only be run as root


  9. #8
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    Is there a problem or special care when doing this, or is it as safe as doing it normally through the KDE or Gnome, whichever you got?

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    67
    I haven't had any problems when running this kind of command

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •