Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i have wolf et installed but to hear any sound i need to run this command Code: echo "et.x86 0 0 direct" > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/oss this would be fine it that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    220

    auto running a command ?


    i have wolf et installed but to hear any sound i need to run this command
    Code:
     echo "et.x86 0 0 direct" > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/oss
    this would be fine it that was it but i need to retype it after every restart so my question is:
    is there a way to automaticaly run this command on startup?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    yes put the command in one of the files in /etc/init.d like boot.local

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    220
    well i got it in a script (in madrake start everyone i think) but its not doing its job

    if i run the script again after load it starts working so my guess is that the script i had selected runs before the sound has been set up and therefore my command does nothing.

    question is what script can i put the command in so that it runs after the sound is up?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    I usually put my command (startup) in to this file /etc/rc.d/rc.local
    i load many program with this,
    this file is loaded after all other init file so it might help in your case to make sure everything is loaded before executing this command (which might want to access something that isnt already loaded)
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    220
    thanks that got it working

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    220
    sadly i take back that last statement

    it lets me hear sound in my game but it cuts the ablelity to record (and tranfer sound as in voice comm) sound (mic and line in).

    i can still hear sound coming from these ports, but linux programs don't

    if i comment out the line and enter it in by hand everything works?

    so whats wrong and/or how do i fix it?

  8. #7
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Fire up your mixer and make sure the recording channels are unmuted/turned up.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    220
    o forgot to say that as soon as i boot up it strips the mixer of all switches and most of the volume controls (still has line mic and a few other but not capture) and if i try to run a recording program (audacity or teamspeak for example) a very odd tone (maybe 40 hz) comes from the headphones without any spikes from screaming in the mic

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •