Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I installed Mandrake 10.1 three or four times trying to get it work this past hour. As always, it comes UP with a black command prompt telling me to login ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12

    Help!!


    I installed Mandrake 10.1 three or four times trying to get it work this past hour. As always, it comes UP with a black command prompt telling me to login and password etc... I want to get straight to the KDE Desktop! What do I do?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Okay.
    login and type startx, and see what happens.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12
    yes i've tried that. It gives me some kind of X.org error.

    i've also tried - not configuring the graphical settings in the setup. It also gives me an error when I try startx.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Can you post the exact error message?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12
    execve failed for /etc/xll/x (errno2) giving up
    xinit : no such file or directory (errno2) : unable to connect to X Server
    xinit : no such process (errno3): server error

  7. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Did you install the full X during installation, and did you configure it? Have you tried running drakxconf?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12
    I don't think it prompted me with install or any settings for X.....can you post a tutorial? And how do I run drakxconf

  9. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Login to CLI (Command Line) as root and type:
    Code:
    drakxconf

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12
    OK, now I'm in the drakxconf with a couple settings to ocnfigure like Auto Install...etc. Now what Do I do?

  11. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Well try to configure the X Server by choosing the Hardware etc. That's right for you. or if you want something even more straightforward, you can try running:
    Code:
    xorgconfig

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •