Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi All I have Win XP home on my system and i have installed Mandrake 10 on my wifes system, both systems are connected to a Net Gear RT314 Router, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Windows XP Home and Mandrake Linux Networking

Hi All

I have Win XP home on my system and i have installed Mandrake 10 on my wifes system, both systems are connected to a Net Gear RT314 Router, both can connect to the Internet and download mail.
    Now i don't know much about Networking but before my wife had win 2k on her system and that was no problem getting the two PC's talking to each other, it was just a matter of enabling sharing on both systems, mapping the drives and making sure they both had the same work group.

The work-group was MShome, now for the life of me i can not see anything similar to what i did in windows in Mandrake, i am new to Linux as well and i know that things have different names and are in different places, but i cant figure out how to get the the two systems talking to each other.

I did try Ubuntu on my wifes system a couple of weeks ago and straight after the install my system was listed there and i could access my computer from my wifes, so i know it can be done, but how?

Thanks for any help on this

Tony

PS i think that i will need a step by step guide on this

You'll want to research a neat little tool called Samba.

Just Joined!
    Thanks, i will have a look into samba and post back.

Thanks

Tony

Just Joined!
    Hi
    Just an update on this.