Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi guys, i am new to linux and have a fair understanding of the windows environment. I am trying to install a dual boot win98/Mandrake system. I have two separate ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

lilo error at startup

Hi guys, i am new to linux and have a fair understanding of the windows environment.

I am trying to install a dual boot win98/Mandrake system. I have two separate drives with windows on hda and mandrake on hdb.

Windows was installed first and after installing mandrake i just get an error that says "L 01 01 01 01 repeating" I can post my lilo.conf if need be. Can anyone help mw through this one?

If i reinstall the windows bootloader i can start win98. But thats not really what i want nowi is it.

please post your lilo.conf

and do you have ide drives or do you have sata drives?
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

Just Joined!
    Hda is a 10Gb Olympic something. Hdb is a 40 Gb Maxtor and both are connected by IDE cable if that answers anything. I found this lilo.conf by booting to rescue disk, Mounting hdb1 on /mnt/hdb1 and then into /mnt/hdb/etc/lilo.conf

boot=/dev/hda
    map=/boot/map
    default="linux"
    keytable=/boot/us.klt
    prompt
    nowarn
    timeout=100
    message=/boot/message
    menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="linux"
    root=/dev/hdb1
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount acpi=ht resume=/dev/hdb5 splash=silent"
    vga=788
    read-only
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="linux-nonfb"
    root=/dev/hdb1
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount acpi=ht resume=/dev/hdb5"
    read-only
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="failsafe"
    root=/dev/hdb1
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="failsafe acpi=ht resume=/dev/hdb5 devfs=nomount"