Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I wasn't sure if Linux would run well or not on my computer. My specs are/will be: Asus K8V-X. K8T800 chipset EVGA nVidia GeForce 6600GT 8x AGP AMD 64 3400+ ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2

    Will Mandrake run on my computer?


    I wasn't sure if Linux would run well or not on my computer. My specs are/will be:

    Asus K8V-X. K8T800 chipset
    EVGA nVidia GeForce 6600GT 8x AGP
    AMD 64 3400+
    Corsair Value 184 Pin 512x2 DDR PC-3200
    Western Digital 160 gig 7200 RPM SATA
    Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS

    That's the computer I am planning on buying, and I wanted to know if Linux would run on it perfectly since Linux will be my only OS. This will also be my first time out side of Windows. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Yeah you should be set, those are some pretty nice specs. Linux will really run on anything.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2
    Thank you. I still have a little while to go before I can buy all the parts though . I noticed Linux would run on almost everything (I've seen a copy for the Nintendo DS), but I wanted to make sure that it would run so smooth that it could be my only OS. I hope Cedega is as good as I've read!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Those are all pretty new parts, just be careful when it comes it ATA controllers, some linii (like aurox, fc1) have a lot of problems with ATA/SATA drives.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    22
    Linux can run on damn near anything. ANd with those nice specs you will be fine.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4
    I'm using Mandrake 10.0 on a PII-233 with 64MB ram, but the X server runs a bit slower...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •