Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I used to have Windows XP and the internet worked fine but recently I installed Linux and now there is no internet. My ISP is MSN and when I contacted ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    ..........
    Posts
    88

    I cant get on the internet


    I used to have Windows XP and the internet worked fine but recently I installed Linux and now there is no internet. My ISP is MSN and when I contacted them they said MSN doesnt work on Linux, but I think there has to be a way. If you know how I would like it the most if you could reply to my e-mail (esh91@msn.com) but I guess if you posted here that would be fine too.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    How do you connect through to the internet? Do you use a USB modem, a wireless card? an ethernet cable? a modem?

    Can you please tell us exactly how you physacly get on the net, and any model numbers etc of modems;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    ..........
    Posts
    88

    stuff about the modems

    Im kinda stupid when it comes to computers but I know this stuff.
    Brand:actiontec
    Conection:ethernet
    Also:The modem is from qwest and my ISP is MSN

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Quote Originally Posted by dylunio
    How do you connect through to the internet? Do you use a USB modem, a wireless card? an ethernet cable? a modem?

    Can you please tell us exactly how you physacly get on the net, and any model numbers etc of modems;

    dylunio
    Also, can you post the connection type DHCP or PPPoE... I know that (if your from canada, Sympatico haas made an alliance with MSN,... where r you from?)

    EDIT : wanted that before your post
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    ..........
    Posts
    88

    im not sure

    im not really sure what "DHCP or PPPoE". Where can I find the info. And I am from Minnesota

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    ..........
    Posts
    88

    OK

    I looked into it and found out that I have DHCP I dont know if it will help you but I hope it will.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Try:
    Code:
    dhclient eth0

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA, Texas
    Posts
    217
    Duplicate post ... please respond here: http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/top...tml&highlight=
    [ [ SykkN alloc ] initWithThePowerTo: destroyYouAll ];
    /* Don\'t make me use it! */

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •