Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi im new to Linux, After downlaoding the new version of MandrakeLinux (10.2 beta 2)and copeing them to 3 CDs I booted with CD 1. But after I booted and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

boot failed

Hi im new to Linux,
    After downlaoding the new version of MandrakeLinux (10.2 beta 2)and copeing them to 3 CDs I booted with CD 1. But after I booted and pressed ENTER for installing Linux it gave me this:
    Code:
    Boot failed: please change disks and press a key to continue.
    Help
    I've looked throw the forums to see if anybody else had the same problem but this didn't seem to be the case.
    Thx for the support.

Linux Engineer
    So you've setup the boot sequence as CDROM first, and thats the error you get?
    have you md5 the cd?
    Do you have another OS on the disk?
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

Just Joined!
    yes whats this "md5" about? i only copied the 3 iso files on the seperate CDs..should i have done it differently?

(erm ya i have XP home edition on it..but i was intending on deeinstalling windows but cause i cant get that to register i can only enter safety mode..and safety mode wont let me format my hard drive. cant register caus i lost my key.(different problem though))

Linux Engineer
    md5 is to make sure the integrity is the same as the "poster" posted...
    as for the CD, I gues you've burned them... are you sure you've burned them correctly?

did you burn them from windows? if so, can you see the content of the cd, or you've burn the /iso "as is"
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama