Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
every time I try to use the cdrom drive it gives me an erro that say "could not list directory contents". I also noticed that they are supermounted what does ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    9

    help my cdrom drives's do not work


    every time I try to use the cdrom drive it gives me an erro that say "could not list directory contents". I also noticed that they are supermounted what does this mean and does this effect the access of them

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    What kind of CDROM drive is it, and what is the full error message (I assume you are typing 'ls'?)

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    9
    One is a cdrw and the other one is a dvdrom beonde that I could not tell you untill I take off my case. Sorry that all I can tell you for know if you need more I open my case and post it for tomarow. That is all that it tells me when I double click on the icon on the desk top. Also the floppy drive does the same thing, but the windows hard drive I can acess.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    What I mean is are they SCSI, IDE or what?
    Also which type of CD are you trying to list the directory contents of?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    9
    it is an IDE but you will have to wait till tomarow for the type of drives

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    whats the DATA on the CD
    (audio, data, iso?)
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  8. #7
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Well I also mean is it a Data or Audio CD?

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    9
    I have tryed both audio and data cd's. if it interest any one here is what I have. An LG CD-R\RW drive model CED-8080B and a Pionner DVDron model DVD-115

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Ok for audio, you cannot mount them so we wont worry about it.
    have you tryed to manually mount the cdrom?
    can you post the output of this
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    and cat/etc/mtab
    fstab is the file where it specifies How to mount the file system (HD, USB drive, cdrom, floppy)
    Mtab is the lis of devide currently mounted.
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    9
    thanks I will try this but how do you access the audio cd's.
    ALso what does supermount mean since I think that they are that way. Also my floppy drive does not work.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •