Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hello all, i just installed my mandrake 10.1 last week and i was wondering how i can make my windows become transparent. I know how to make the panle transparent ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    6

    How do i get transparent windows


    Hello all, i just installed my mandrake 10.1 last week and i was wondering how i can make my windows become transparent. I know how to make the panle transparent but i looked at some screen shots and they had transparent windos. It looked cool and i was wondering how i can do it.



    Please write back

    Thanks

    MandrakeNube22

  2. #2
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    I believe one must update to KDE 3.3, for Mdk 10.1 comes with 3.2

    Side note: 10.2 will be done in April-ish which will have 3.3.2, and when that happens you could update using urpm.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    I may be wrong but I think window transparency is application-specific, meaning only certain windows can be transparent. KDE 3.3 may have a feature that allows you to make any window transparent, but I haven't seen that.

    Can you give us a link to the screenshots you're talking about so we can see what apps are transparent?

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    to be able to have very nice transparency on every windows including taskbar, update your URPM database with this how to

    after, as root type superkaramba
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    129
    Yep, Superkaramba is the program you need.
    Mandrake users click here.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    6
    Thanks guys, ill have to upgrade then. heres the link...... htp://www.mandrakelinux.com/en/fscreenshots.php3
    u have to scrool down a couple and ull se it

    Thanks Please Reply

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    6

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Dude, you may not need KDE 3.3 to get transparency like that. Go to KDE Control Center and under look n feel, there's a section for the menu bar/task bar/ panel. In one of those, you can set the transparency. It only works with certain themes.

    As for Konsole, you can set the transparency in the settings drop down menu.

    The other things there are superkaramba, that runs fine on KDE 3.2.
    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Quote Originally Posted by jeremy1701
    Dude, you may not need KDE 3.3 to get transparency like that. Go to KDE Control Center and under look n feel, there's a section for the menu bar/task bar/ panel. In one of those, you can set the transparency. It only works with certain themes.

    As for Konsole, you can set the transparency in the settings drop down menu.

    The other things there are superkaramba, that runs fine on KDE 3.2.
    Jeremy
    As said by Jeremy, And as said by me a little earlier, KDE 3.3, I do not have an my desktop is uncluding transparency, superkaramba is an RPM included in the "contrib" of mandrake... there absolutly no pain in installing it.
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    6
    is superkarma free? ............ and is there a special one i have to download for Mandrake 10.1????

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •