Find the answer to your Linux question:
OK please help me iam a total newb and know nothing else but somple vi and never used linux before iam just starting. OK i want to install the Nvidia ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie Video Drivers Help

OK please help me iam a total newb and know nothing else but somple vi and never used linux before iam just starting.

OK i want to install the Nvidia drivers into my PC so far i have downloade the driver and went to run the install sh (Nvidia Driver). It runs a verify and then give me the error

"ERROR: You appear to be running a X server; please exit x before installing. For further details, please refer to the etc."

So ive read the install help and thats got me even more confused ?

can anyone plese tell me if anyone else has created any instruction that i copy paste and run in console line by line to install thesse drivers.

Many Thanks

Battle Sloth

hehe you need to install the nvidia drivers from a lowerlevel than the 'x' runlevel to do this do this in a root shell/terminal/console
    Code:
    init 3
    this will take you out of 'x' to runlevel 3 then run the installer then type
    Code:
    init 4
    or an some distro's it is
    Code:
    init 5
    to get back to the 'x' runlevel (gui)
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

Just Joined!

Yeap

Thats the trick

Ok next probem, now iam allowed to run the installer i select Yes to agreement then it gowes to install and says some info about kernel source checking at nvidia. Then none found and give some message like Kernel-Sources must ne installed to ruin this installer or something.

So anyways this is what i done, i typed

urpmi kernel-source

Then it said " Already INstalled EVerything"