Find the answer to your Linux question:
First of I would like to say hello. I'm new to these forums and I'm also new to the world of Linux and all its distributions. Please be patient with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Keyboard and Resolution Not Working

First of I would like to say hello. I'm new to these forums and I'm also new to the world of Linux and all its distributions. Please be patient with me since I am completely new to this.

So I decided to install Mandrake Linux becaue I am enrolled in the Computer System Technologist program which requires me to run assembler compilers using UNIX. I got tired of having to do SSH all the time and I installed VMWare on my WinXP Pro install. I figure that I'm gonna have to learn how to use linux at some point so it might as well be now. Bottom line I want to be able to run the compiler on my computer.

Here is the scoop. I installed Mandrake with no errors but when it booted and it finished loading my screen was cut into four separate messed up sections. I surfed the web for an answer and I totally rewrote the X86Conifg (Im not sure abou the name now) file to reflect what the file should read for a Sony PCG FRV25 laptop according to some people online.

Now the X thing (sorry about 'thing' but I can't remember what the Xthing is, I'm guessing it's the GUI) doesn't come up and all I get is the Logon prompt. When I attempt to type in my username and password my keyboard produces some funky characters for some of the letters IE when I press 'm' I get something else.

I'm assuming that this is a simple configuration issuse to do with resolution, refresh rate, color quality and keyboard type but I cannot get it right. I'm not even sure if editing the X86Config file was the right place to start.

I've searched the forums here but I've been unalble to find anything specific for my laptop. Please help and thanks in advance, cheers.

Linux Engineer
    Hi mate.